The lake covers 37 hectares with a beach of 3000 m2 and more than 30 hectares of grass, shrubs and trees. Built in 1964, safer dreams of Canon Félix Kir who was a mayor of Dijon from 1945 to 1968. Today the lake is a much loved leisure site and area of natural beauty inhabited by swans and duck who joined in the winter by seagulls and coots. There are leisure activities here with a swimming area, sailing area, canoe and windsurfing centre, volley-ball, table tennis, mini-golf, tennis, and extensive playgrounds. A railway line runs alongside the lake and there is a statue of the Grenadier, from Dijon sculptor Georges Diebolt.
The municipality of Dijon decided to build this iron lattice covered market in 1873. The plans were prepared by Gustave Eiffel, a native son of Dijon and architect of the city and the building was completed by engineer Clement Weinberger. The structure is a series of ironwork arches and columns, with capitals decorated with tendrils of vine. The cross pieces of the great arches are decorated with heads of deer, sheep, wild boar and game. The roof is much inspired by that of the halls of Paris. The central market open until 1 pm on Tuesdays, Fridays and Saturdays and Thursdays for food stalls.